Frede Blaabjerg (Denmark)

Professor, Aalborg University, Denmark.

Presently he is leader of the Center of Reliable Power Electronics (CORPE). He is the author or coauthor of more than 700 publications in his research fields including the book “Control in Power Electronics”.
His research areas are in power electronics, static power converters, ac drives, switched reluctance drives, modelling, characterization of power semiconductor devices and simulation, power quality, wind turbines, custom power systems, reliability and green power inverter. He has been involved in more than fifty research projects with the industry.

Key achievements:
- has been successfully working the last four years on developing cheaper electronics and more efficient systems that accelerate the transition to renewable energy sources. The basic idea is that products should be designed to have exactly the reliability and durability needed. No more and no less.

Нe has been Distingueshed lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society from 2005 to 2008. In 2010-2011 he was Distigueshed Lecturer of IEEE Industry Applications Society and now he is prominent lecturer.
He received the 1995 Angelos Award for his contribution in modulation technique and control of electric drives, and an Annual Teacher prize at Aalborg University, also 1995.
In 1998 he received the Outstanding Young Power Electronics Engineer Award from the IEEE Power Electronics Society.
In 2002 he received the C.Y. O’Connor fellowship from Perth, Australia, in 2003 the Statoil-prize for his contributions in Power Electronics and in 2004 the Grundfos Prize in acknowledgement of his international scientific research in power electronics. He became IEEE Fellow in 2003. He received the IEEE Power Electronics Society Distingueshed Service Award in 2009 and the EPE-PEMC Council award in 2010.
Recently he got awarded an ERC Advanced Grant – “Harmony”